Congratulations to new HCDP chair Lillie Schechter

At Sunday's Harris County Democratic Party (HCDP) county executive committee meeting, precinct chairs chose Lillie Schechter in the first round of balloting to replace Lane Lewis, who recently resigned his position as Harris County Democratic Party chair.

Six candidates remained in the race for the vote at the IBEW Local Union 716 Hall, 1475 N. Loop W. in Houston: Dominique Davis, Keryl Douglas, Eartha Jean Johnson, Johnathan F. Miller, Lillie Schechter and Chris Spellmon. All the candidates spoke briefly before the vote, and Douglas and Spellmon asked their supporters to cast their votes for Eartha Jean Johnson, who received the second highest number of votes. However, Lillie Schechter received more than 50 percent of the vote, and a runoff was not necessary.

After the vote, new precinct chairs were sworn in. The remaining precinct chairs approved resolutions commending former President Barack Obama and opposing repeal of the Affordable Care Act.